Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

What is this LED called?

Author
Message
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:47 am

In my car with the temperature controls, there are (5) green LEDs and (2) amber LEDs. I would like to swap these out with blue and red. Unfortunately, these are not just normal LEDs. The ones I was going to use are completely circular. These are flat on two sides so they can slide into their individual slot. Any idea what these would be called? I've thought about also drilling the hole out to accomidate a normal 5mm LED but I rather do it right.

alkatmsu

Joined: Nov 08 2005
Posts: 1560
Location: Kentucky


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:35 am

If you tell us what kind of car you have, we can probably find it out for sure. Are the sizes you have to scale? It'd be too big to be a surface mount LED I think, but I have no experience with them, I just know they're TINY.
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:43 am

maybe shave 2 sides of a standard LED?
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:40 am

How about using a 3mm LED
stasis-

Joined: Jun 05 2004
Posts: 4517
Location: Texas!


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:51 am

What kind of car do you have?

I forget what it is (maybe someone here will remember) but theres a site that lets you choose what kind of car you have and it shows replacement bulbs for it in various colors
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 11:05 am

1999 Mazda 626 ES

The picture is not to size, but merely oversize so you can see what Im talking about. I rather not shave the sides of the LED or use smaller ones. There has to be a specific name for these...

Nice Fiero btw icon_biggrin.gif
stasis-

Joined: Jun 05 2004
Posts: 4517
Location: Texas!


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 11:30 am

finding the bulb sizes hasnt been too easy. do you have the manual still? in it, it will list replacement sizes for various things.other than that try a mazda forum

fieros kinda gone, I need to make a new sig icon_cool.gif
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:19 pm

Yeah, the mazda forum told me to try here. I highly doubt you will find the bulb size for a replacement. They are not made to be replaced. Its not like a turn signal or anything. Its just a 5mm LED with 2 flat sides. I thought perhaps it had a special name that someone would know...
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 3:54 pm

There's absolutely no harm in shaving an LED to get it to suit your needs.....especially if you can't find a direct replacement for the original.
BuryTheNeedle

Joined: Apr 21 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Rhode Island


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:15 pm

prob. PLCC2
https://www.oznium.com/loose-component-leds/plcc-2
I have orderd from tehm and they are good
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:32 pm

I dont know man. All of the images I find are like this



If I was to shave an LED (looks like the best option so far) what would I do? Grind it down lol?
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:36 pm

pretty much ya, you can shave an LED down as much as you want, keep in mind not to go too far as damage the internal element.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:40 pm

there will be no direct replacement for the stock leds. when those burn out you would have to go to the dealer and buy a new temp control module.

just shave some 5mm leds and put em in there.
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 6:23 am

So, do I use sand paper (if so, what grit) or like grind it down, or what?
TRogers

Joined: Feb 09 2005
Posts: 6083
Location: Ohio


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 8:06 am

Grinder if you are super careful to not hit the internals. I use a dremel tool to cut mine down to size.
jol102001

Joined: Feb 12 2004
Posts: 5815
Location: Lake Charles, LA -- USA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:44 pm

Surface Mount Leds

hard to mount without leads on them
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 6:07 pm

Culokin wrote:
I use a dremel tool to cut mine down to size.


same here....
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 7:24 pm

use a dremel or vertical belt sander.
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 7:59 pm

Well, I used a table grinder and it worked fine. I still rather know what the LEDs are called. Are they called Surface Mount Leds?

(BTW, I already soldered them in, looks great)
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jun 10, 2006 8:03 pm

if they have leads which go through the circuit board then they are regular leds.

if they have metal tabs on each side that are soldered to the top of the board then they are surface mount.
BuryTheNeedle

Joined: Apr 21 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Rhode Island


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Jun 11, 2006 8:38 am

keep looking i've seen them before
coldfusion01

Joined: Dec 11 2005
Posts: 157


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:39 pm

well they sell rectangle leds somewhat like that but for computers... u can probaly pic up a few at radio shack in one fo there assorted bags, but you might have to solder a resistor onto it (i think those only come in 4v :/)
XeNoMoRpH

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Virginia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:33 am

Well, now the issue I have is that it seems the original amber LEDs had less voltage running through them. I had my red LED with a 510ohm resistor and to a 9 volt. It was pretty damn bright. On that climate control module its just crap lol. The blue ones are over powered and the red is just extremely dim. I will post a pic of what I am talking about...
The time now is Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:48 pm
Page 1 of 1