Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

use a momentary switch to control a relay

Author
Message
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:10 am

Idk if this is even possible without alot of work but im looking to use a momentary switch to trigger a relay that will stay on constantly untill a 2nd momentary switch is pressed to then deactivate the relay. any help would be awsome! icon_confused.gif
corvettecrazy

Joined: Dec 17 2003
Posts: 4357
Location: moved (twice)


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:17 am

druidman227 wrote:
Idk if this is even possible without alot of work but im looking to use a momentary switch to trigger a relay that will stay on constantly untill a 2nd momentary switch is pressed to then deactivate the relay. any help would be awsome! icon_confused.gif


yes it is possible.

it is a bit more work, but it is possible.
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:20 am

For that to work, wouldn't one need a latching relay...as the standard Bosch relays require constant power to remain on?
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:23 am

anyone have a diagram and possibly specific parts i would need to do this?
corvettecrazy

Joined: Dec 17 2003
Posts: 4357
Location: moved (twice)


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:57 am

audio_excessories wrote:
For that to work, wouldn't one need a latching relay...as the standard Bosch relays require constant power to remain on?


you can do it with bosch relays but instead of just one...you need 6 of them, all wired together so that a momentary switch will work. I don't have a wire diagram handy. So you will have to do some digging.

I would suggest starting at
the12volt.com
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:16 am

ah yes, I know what you are talking about now...I can get it real quick.

Edit:

This would work, but only requires 1 momentary switch....essentially making it a push button.....
User posted image
From the12volt.com
josh9015

Joined: Sep 05 2003
Posts: 2256
Location: Melbourne, Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:33 pm

that seems like a lot of work just to use a momentary switch. Just use a regular switch.
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:51 pm

josh9015 wrote:
that seems like a lot of work just to use a momentary switch. Just use a regular switch.

Yes, thank you. All of that relay nonsense is, well, nonsense. Just buy a push button switch to power your relay.
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:32 pm

no, this is a school project thing. i have to build a mousetrap and i wanted to use a pressure switch to activate a servo to close the door to the trap, but i dont want the door to open when the mouse steps off the switch.
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:58 am

Bwah, nevermind. Read too quickly, didn't realize you wanted to use two switches.
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Sep 29, 2006 9:45 am

so can i do this with the relays that phil (and now eric) sells? can someone lable the parts of that diagram (which is excellent btw) so i know exactly what i'll need.
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:40 am

anyone have any advice on this. i need some help please!
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:54 am

is there a way i can do this using 2 momentary switches, one to activate the relay only and one to deactivate it only?
corvettecrazy

Joined: Dec 17 2003
Posts: 4357
Location: moved (twice)


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:15 am

sure, 2 relay packs.

one to turn on/cut off power and the other to use that power and trigger the servo
druidman227

Joined: Jun 11 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: River Edge, NJ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:21 am

diagrams would be awsome for doing that. i just ordered the relays and some other stuff from phil so i'll be getting to work on this in the next few days.
The time now is Sun May 20, 2018 9:57 pm
Page 1 of 1