Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

New LED Dome Lights - Very Bright

Author
Message
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7721


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:05 pm

NEW PRODUCT! - These are bright

Just installed them in the front dome light of my 4runner. Easy install, very bright! Good price icon_smile.gif

https://www.oznium.com/led-dome/led-domelight

"I wanted to replace the very dim stock dome lights in my car. I didn't want a cheap tiny LED replacement bulb. I wanted something with incredible brightness... So I got a circuit board at Radio Shack and spent a couple hours soldering the 4-chip superflux LEDs onto it.

The result was fantastic, but it took forever to build, and most people don't have the patience.

So, I created this product. It is a universal LED dome light available in arrays with either 16 or 25 LEDs." - Phil Suslow, Owner Oznium.com


It takes just a few minutes to install:

1. Pop off the plastic dome light lense
2. Pull out the old bulb
3. Find the matching connector (we include 6 common sizes)
4. Plug it in, fit the new LED dome light in place, and put back the lense

This the real deal. A monster of a light! Choose from SIXTEEN, or TWENTY FIVE LEDs. We could have gone with 1-chip, 2-chip, or 4-chip. We went straight for the 4-chip LEDs - to give you ultimate performance and brightness.


User posted image
User posted image
User posted image
User posted image


User posted image
User posted image

https://www.oznium.com/led-dome/led-domelight


Here's the custom one I built a while back for my tC with 28 LEDs total:

User posted image
User posted image
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2810
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:13 pm

mmmmm......
these are going in the cart for the next order...
TRogers

Joined: Feb 09 2005
Posts: 6083
Location: Ohio


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:17 pm

FLIPPIN SWEET! Awesome Phil!
Cooper

Joined: Mar 19 2006
Posts: 1770


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:18 pm

Good decision to include all the connectors with each piece . Go no hassle, go ability to move to a future ride of a different make .
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:35 pm

User posted image

Where can I buy these?
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2810
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 6:41 pm

i think they're included in every kit?
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 7:02 pm

Ohh, I see. They plug into the stock wiring and you plug the new 16 or 25 LED board into those.
Losing quickly

Joined: Apr 26 2005
Posts: 5706
Location: SC


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 7:57 pm

Awesome, I've been wanting to brighten my dome light up for a while, now I can! wOOt.....needs to make some mulah first...
Bobby Lee

Joined: Mar 01 2003
Posts: 3881


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:07 pm

Hmmm, have you tried these new ones in the tC yet, Phil? By the looks of the connecters, I'm not sure if they'd work. icon_confused.gif If they do, well... hell yeah!
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:12 pm

They should, you've got six popular bulb styles to choose from.
Bobby Lee

Joined: Mar 01 2003
Posts: 3881


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:21 pm

Our dome light doesn't have those kinds of bulbs. Its a circuit board type dealio. Eh, I'll have to look at it again... icon_confused.gif
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:44 pm

this is awsome I was just thinking about making a custom LED dome light but you have saved me the trouble

I must have one...... hell I need a few
The_Mastor

Joined: Jan 23 2006
Posts: 4195
Location: Idaho


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:53 pm

Sweeeeet, but dangit Phil you need to learn that this is the 21st century, MILLION COLOR THINGS! icon_twisted.gif

icon_lol.gif

I'll pick a big one up in my next order, these crappy knock off "colored" bulbs from Shucks burn out in about a day icon_rolleyes.gif
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:56 pm

Finally.

How hot does it get?
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 8:58 pm

yeah you need to do a million color one or at least a 7 color one
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7721


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 9:29 pm

Yep the 16 LED version will fit perfectly in the tC. You can use 3 sets of them in the front dome light. You could use all the same color, or mix and match. For example, blue for the middle light, and white for the sides.
This is the connector used in the tC:
stowsea

Joined: May 05 2007
Posts: 95
Location: Delavan, WI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 9:37 pm

badass! i will just have to hardwire mine anyways
Bobby Lee

Joined: Mar 01 2003
Posts: 3881


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 9:43 pm

Thanks Phil! I figured that you hadn't left us out! icon_wink.gif

What do you think? Red, green, blue? Get all three?
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 9:52 pm

Phil wrote:
Yep the 16 LED version will fit perfectly in the tC. You can use 3 sets of them in the front dome light. You could use all the same color, or mix and match. For example, blue for the middle light, and white for the sides.

This is the connector used in the tC:



Is that like a 194 type? I don't think I have enough room to fit any of these, icon_sad.gif . The only lights I have are on the bottom of my rearview mirror.
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 23, 2007 9:54 pm

Humbug

Idont seem to have enough light emitting from my headliner. However, I can't justify spending that much ATM.
Cyber Knight

Joined: Nov 23 2006
Posts: 523
Location: Calgary, Alberta


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 7:43 am

Those look really nice, and upgrading dome lights is something anyone can do (and probably should). There's no way these would fit in my dome light housing, there's barely enough room for the little festoon bulb, but that doesn't mean these can't be used in other places. Nice work Phil!
ImagoX

Joined: Aug 24 2006
Posts: 2124
Location: Columbus, Ohio


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 8:17 am

The "universal adapter" plugs are a BRILLIANT idea, Phil - sure you could direct-wire them, positive and ground, but including the adapter means that even regular Joes who are scared by wiring projects can just pop them in - geat call. I'll be sure to link this up over on NorthAmericanMotoring.com - I know several people over there that will go ape for these!

EDIT: any plans for a moisture-sealed version of thse, Phil? They remind me of super -duper versions of the LED Modules you just came out with (same LEDS used in both?), but it doesn't look like I'd be able to use these in an external installation...
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 6:23 pm

Lol, I thought they were for dome lights. Why would you need to moisture proof them?
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 6:24 pm

banned from SG wrote:
Lol, I thought they were for dome lights. Why would you need to moisture proof them?

That's exactly what I was thinking, lol.
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 7:13 pm

These are 4-chip Superflux LEDs. The LEDs used in those smaller pucks or w/e you call them are the surface mount LEDs.
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 8:22 pm

now we need one for the rearview mirror map lights icon_biggrin.gif

BTW you should sell just the adaptors alone too
they would be good for wiring up other stock to LED conversions
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 9:33 pm

Hmmm...I think i'm going to Jerry Rig some 5,000,000 candle power spot lights into my side mirrors. Set em on relays with my blinkers and replace my mirrors with something translucent and i'm golden...

sleeping.gif
dyldo

Joined: Aug 26 2006
Posts: 86
Location: australia


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 24, 2007 10:59 pm

will you sell the connectors separately? theyd be handy for wiring things in
Mad_Eyes

Joined: Jul 25 2006
Posts: 559


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 1:59 am

I have the normal led dome lights in my car right now. I notice that the lights are slightly on even when the door is closed if left on temporary mode. Does this event also occur with these lights?
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2810
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 3:51 am

Mad_Eyes wrote:
I have the normal led dome lights in my car right now. I notice that the lights are slightly on even when the door is closed if left on temporary mode. Does this event also occur with these lights?

they should act just like normal dome lights if you have em hooked up right....
ImagoX

Joined: Aug 24 2006
Posts: 2124
Location: Columbus, Ohio


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 6:47 am

Aken wrote:
banned from SG wrote:
Lol, I thought they were for dome lights. Why would you need to moisture proof them?

That's exactly what I was thinking, lol.


You guys have NO imagination at all, do you? biglaugh.gif

I can think if LOTS of great uses for these if I could expose them to the elements. No biggie - I'm sure they can be siliconed like cathodes if need-be. It would be cool if they came that way right "out of the box" though...
Mad_Eyes

Joined: Jul 25 2006
Posts: 559


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 7:29 am

ImagoX wrote:
The "universal adapter" plugs are a BRILLIANT idea, Phil - sure you could direct-wire them, positive and ground, but including the adapter means that even regular Joes who are scared by wiring projects can just pop them in - geat call. I'll be sure to link this up over on NorthAmericanMotoring.com - I know several people over there that will go ape for these!

EDIT: any plans for a moisture-sealed version of thse, Phil? They remind me of super -duper versions of the LED Modules you just came out with (same LEDS used in both?), but it doesn't look like I'd be able to use these in an external installation...


Regular Joes like me who don't know anything about wiring biglaugh.gif
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 10:09 am

ImagoX wrote:
Aken wrote:
banned from SG wrote:
Lol, I thought they were for dome lights. Why would you need to moisture proof them?

That's exactly what I was thinking, lol.


You guys have NO imagination at all, do you? biglaugh.gif

.


Absolutely not. I wonder if I could hook these up to a bomb (at work) some how? How's that for imagination?
ImagoX

Joined: Aug 24 2006
Posts: 2124
Location: Columbus, Ohio


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 10:18 am

banned from SG wrote:

Absolutely not. I wonder if I could hook these up to a bomb (at work) some how? How's that for imagination?


Ohhh... you're so "edgy". I bet you're the "bad one" in your boy band, huh? biglaugh.gif
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 3:35 pm

I'm not in a band.
Bobby Lee

Joined: Mar 01 2003
Posts: 3881


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 25, 2007 9:27 pm

^^^ Incorrect, the organization of the air force is about as good as a boy band. You guys probably have just as much, and the same kind of drama as well. icon_wink.gif
banned from SG

Joined: Jul 01 2003
Posts: 5127


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat May 26, 2007 1:51 am

Not my job.

It's okay to be jealous because we get treated like people and you dont. biglaugh.gif
mbear2489

Joined: Mar 12 2007
Posts: 10


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat May 26, 2007 9:45 pm

Kevin_S wrote:
Mad_Eyes wrote:
I have the normal led dome lights in my car right now. I notice that the lights are slightly on even when the door is closed if left on temporary mode. Does this event also occur with these lights?

they should act just like normal dome lights if you have em hooked up right....


i dont think its an issue. my car does that too with my dome light set to "door" as well as my friends cavy when we put in LEDs dunno what causes it but it happens
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat May 26, 2007 9:55 pm

mbear2489 wrote:
Kevin_S wrote:
Mad_Eyes wrote:
I have the normal led dome lights in my car right now. I notice that the lights are slightly on even when the door is closed if left on temporary mode. Does this event also occur with these lights?

they should act just like normal dome lights if you have em hooked up right....


i dont think its an issue. my car does that too with my dome light set to "door" as well as my friends cavy when we put in LEDs dunno what causes it but it happens


I know what you guys are talking about

it's just something the LED's do
red LED's don't really do it green ones kinda do but Blue ones REALLY do

it dosen't mean power is still being supplied to them it's just leftover power in the LED that gives it a faint glow for a while

by no means is it still drawing power from your battery
it goes away eventually
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2810
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 6:57 am

Quote:
by no means is it still drawing power from your battery
it goes away eventually

are you sure about that?
i have an itching that if you cut the power to 'em, they'd kill out immediately....which would contradict your theory. I could be (and very possibly, might I add), be wrong, though.
I may order some a lil later (maybe Phil will drop the price after the "newness" wares off?) and try 'em out to see exactly what happens....
sparky15_00

Joined: May 25 2007
Posts: 183
Location: San Angelo, TX


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 9:53 am

Quick question, my cav doesn't use a 194 bulb for the dome, but a 912 bulb. Slightly bigger. Would that connector still work? Or should I just bust out the soldering iron icon_razz.gif
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 11:52 am

this would work as a trunk light too

I think the blue connector would work in a cavalier trunk

I would do it but I already have a 4 foot blaze tube in there wired into my own simple 3 switch 7 color controller
xracer000

Joined: Sep 27 2006
Posts: 305
Location: Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 6:09 pm

Netofficer3710 wrote:

I know what you guys are talking about

it's just something the LED's do
red LED's don't really do it green ones kinda do but Blue ones REALLY do

it dosen't mean power is still being supplied to them it's just leftover power in the LED that gives it a faint glow for a while

by no means is it still drawing power from your battery
it goes away eventually


I have an S-10, and when I shut my door, the dome light stays on for about 30 seconds and then fades to dark. What would happen to the LED? Would it just shut off and go dark instantly? I like to fade to dark effect.
Tim

Joined: Nov 16 2003
Posts: 10795
Location: Kalamazoo, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 6:10 pm

It'll fade a little. Probably not as noticeably as your stock lighting does.
Netofficer3710

Joined: Mar 29 2007
Posts: 481
Location: independence Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun May 27, 2007 8:50 pm

Kevin_S wrote:
Quote:
by no means is it still drawing power from your battery
it goes away eventually

are you sure about that?
i have an itching that if you cut the power to 'em, they'd kill out immediately....which would contradict your theory. I could be (and very possibly, might I add), be wrong, though.
I may order some a lil later (maybe Phil will drop the price after the "newness" wares off?) and try 'em out to see exactly what happens....


100% sure
I tried it with the blaze tube I disected when I was messing with the wiring and it had an ever so faint glow when I disconnected the battery
Mad_Eyes

Joined: Jul 25 2006
Posts: 559


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 30, 2007 4:12 pm

Netofficer3710 wrote:

I know what you guys are talking about

it's just something the LED's do
red LED's don't really do it green ones kinda do but Blue ones REALLY do

it dosen't mean power is still being supplied to them it's just leftover power in the LED that gives it a faint glow for a while

by no means is it still drawing power from your battery
it goes away eventually


But then why do they turn off completely when the lights are changed to off. They must be drawing some power still...

Phil, did u end up putting the light covers back on after u installed the dome lights?
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7721


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 30, 2007 5:10 pm

Yes, I put the covers back on
sparky15_00

Joined: May 25 2007
Posts: 183
Location: San Angelo, TX


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 30, 2007 8:17 pm

I know it's not directly related to the dome lights, but I just got a 9.5" flex strip and installed it in my dome. My Cav has the delayed power off, and it fades just like stock, then shuts completely off. There shouldn't be any problems with it staying on with the fade systems.
The time now is Tue May 22, 2018 6:24 am
Page 1 of 1