Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

LEDs wired with dome light and switch???

Author

Are you sure you want to delete this post?

Post Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:51 pm

Hey all,

I just need a little help with the monster that I have created! icon_biggrin.gif
I got some LEDs for my wife's Neon and she would like them to come on with the dome light (for the remote unlock) and also have a switch to turn them on inside the car.

I am thinking that I would need diodes to prevent the switch on the dash from turning the dome light on with the LEDs??? I don't know much about Diodes. Are they rated at differant values?? Or are they all the same? The guys at radio shack are not much help at all. LOL

Sorry for sounding like such a nubie, I wire houses but i am new to the low voltage stuff. Here is what i'm thinking.

mx107marlin

Post Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:07 pm

You've got it right.... Basically you need to look for diodes that meet your voltage rating... (most do) and that are rated for the amount of current you need... (for what you're doing, almost all will)

Go back to your Radio Shack and give them this SKU # : 276-1653

That's a pack of 25 assorted Rectifier diodes that will work for your application. I think retail on it is like $1.99.... Fortunately I'm not quite as stupid as most of the guys that work at Radio Shack, I actually am helpful for people that come in my store...

But yeah, pick up that pack, pull one out (It doesn't matter which one... they are all rated for 1Amp, which is more than you'll have with this circuit) If you have more than about 12 superfluxes, you'll need to get a bigger diode (Higher Amperage).

Good luck, and make sure to keep us posted, feel free to ask questions here as well.

Oh, and most importantly.... Welcome to Oz... ozzy_change.gif
Enjoy your stay...
bugs825

Post Tue Dec 25, 2007 2:40 pm

Thanks a bunch mx...