Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Fuse and ground wire help

Author

Are you sure you want to delete this post?

Post Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:27 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to this stuff and have a couple questions...

My first question is, should I connect the ground wire to the negative terminal of the battery, or do I just fasten it to the metal of the chassis like you do when wiring audio amps?

And my second question, what size fuse should I use if I am using 2 9.5" flexible LED strips? I only work with car audio stuff and the amps we use for that range anywhere from 20 to 200 amps. I don't know where to find a fuse small enough for these.
mx107marlin

Post Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:11 pm

First off, Welcome to Oznium ozzy_change.gif

Now the answer to your first question about the ground wire, yes, you will fasten it to the metal of the chassis just like an audio amp... this stuff is wired identical to an audio amp. Positive to fuse, fuse to battery, negative to ground.

Now, as you know, fuse size is dependent on wire size, but your wire will be required to carry at least .32A (160mA*2= 320mA, or .32A) As for fuse size, 14 gauge would be fine at 5A up to about 15'. I would personally use 12 gauge for my power wire, and put a 10A fuse in it, that way you're covered.

As for where to find these fuses, check your local auto parts store or a Radio Shack. They will have in-line fuse holders and fuses to fit them.

Feel free to ask any other questions.
PwrRngr

Post Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:15 pm

Just connect the ground to the metal of the chassis. Fuse size depends on WIRE GAUGE, not the load on the circuit. Let us know what gauge wire are you using for your circuit and I can tell you what size fuse to use from there.
nphilanthro

Post Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:18 pm