Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

wiring second battery

Author
Message
campbellsco

Joined: Oct 26 2008
Posts: 97
Location: Urbandale, Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:12 am

okay i would like to wire a second battery for all of my audio and lights, in hte back of my car.

what should i use to accomplish this i have seen battery isolaters but i'm not exactly sure how to do it or what to use.

thanks for the help
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:19 pm

User posted image
Mc12v

Joined: Dec 28 2008
Posts: 3


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:07 pm

I love the Yandina c100.
User posted image

Ha, my first post, and I post a link! I'm not spamming, I just think this is a pretty slick componant.
Here is my install. --> http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=246921
JSewell

Joined: Mar 22 2009
Posts: 464
Location: Texas Raised


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:41 pm

kk i wanted to dig back up this topic, because im having the same question and this topic didn't show a clear answer

I was thinking i could wire a 2nd battery like this, tell me if you see anything wrong



From the pos terminal of the 1 battery (1Bat.) I was gonna to run a cable (or some sort) to the pos terminal of a 2nd battery (2Bat.). The wire connecting the two would have a diode (maybe?) in place so that the 1Bat. could keep its own charge, while charging the 2nd. And when the car is off, the second wouldn't waste 1Bat.'s charge

Then I'd ground out the neg terminal on the 2Bat. and be good to go

Also using a deep cycle for the 2Bat.

Sound good? Suggestions?
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:53 pm

A diode won't work. The current flow is way too much for a diode to handle. You need a 200 amp relay.

Buy this product: https://www.oznium.com/wire-12v-and-relays/relay200

Here's a nice diagram I made:
User posted image
campbellsco

Joined: Oct 26 2008
Posts: 97
Location: Urbandale, Iowa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:58 pm

if you don't like the isolator relay i baught an electronic battery isolator connects and disconnects the auxiliary batter when neccesary
coolbam

Joined: Nov 05 2008
Posts: 1996
Location: Dayton OH


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:04 pm

Nice artistic skillz here guys.
JSewell

Joined: Mar 22 2009
Posts: 464
Location: Texas Raised


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:28 am

so itd work something like a relay ehh?

So if i have this setup, i can basically mess with the 2nd bat all i want, without taking charge from the 1 bat

the 2nd bat would charge only when the 1st is RECEIVING a charge


correct??
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:09 pm

Hmmm I've been running the Diode Isolator on a 180 amp Alternator for YEARS icon_lol.gif
arsin206

Joined: May 15 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Seattle, WA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 15, 2009 5:26 pm

What gauge wire should I use between batteries?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri May 15, 2009 5:52 pm

how many amps are your alternator ???
The time now is Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:34 pm
Page 1 of 1