Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

wiring LEDS

Author
Message
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:10 pm

Hi, i want to install leds on my car interior pillars.

I intend to have 3 LED each for each pillars, so there are total of 6 pillars.

Total LED used would be 18.

Can any experts here enlighten me on how should i do the wiring for the leds? Do i need resistors for each LED?

I also which to have a switch that have this function.. on/off/door. what type of switch allows me to have this 3 functions

how do i do the wiring if i hit the switch to door?

thanks in advance

User posted image
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:39 pm

Probably easiest to use the pre-wired LEDs, then just make groups of three of them, and connect each of their power wires together and each negative wire together to make a main power and ground wire for each group. Then run them to their appropriate spots.
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:40 pm

i agree to that point. but ordering from oznium and then ship to SG is very troublesome.

so would like to wire it myself
byte

Joined: Mar 25 2009
Posts: 313


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:03 am

You will need this if not using prewired LED...
http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:51 am

Hi, i have bought 12 super bright white LED 5mm.

The shop recommended me to wire every 3 LED with 1 51ohm resistor (green brown blue gold resistor)

do you think the resistor is too high value?
PwrRngr

Joined: Jul 19 2007
Posts: 4407


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 21, 2009 5:18 am

fossildj wrote:
Hi, i have bought 12 super bright white LED 5mm.

The shop recommended me to wire every 3 LED with 1 51ohm resistor (green brown blue gold resistor)

do you think the resistor is too high value?


51 ohm seems like it would be ok or low. You need to check your information b/c a green brown blue resistor is 51 Megaohms.

green = 5
brown = 1
blue = 6

A 51 ohm resistor would be green brown black.
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:14 am

ah. sorry. Its black.. i make a mistake i tink its black. It seems dark blue. but looking closer its black..

so its alright?

btw i just bought the following switch..

this is how i wan my led to operate.

on/off/door

on : permanetly on
off : off the led
door : follow my car door switch (the car door switch is NEGATIVE powered)

How can i wiring them so it can operate in the above function?? The LED will have a new power line run from the battery (with fuse)

User posted image
User posted image
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:49 am

You'll wire position one to provide + to light them then run a RELAY to trigger on the negitive ground to provide positive power to the lights in position two...

OR connect the LED's to a hot line ,then you can run the switch as the ground and position one GROUNDS the LED's and lights them and position two uses the door switches to ground them and light them ...
The second method will not work if the switch is lighted
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:20 am

bad venge wrote:
You'll wire position one to provide + to light them then run a RELAY to trigger on the negitive ground to provide positive power to the lights in position two...

OR connect the LED's to a hot line ,then you can run the switch as the ground and position one GROUNDS the LED's and lights them and position two uses the door switches to ground them and light them ...
The second method will not work if the switch is lighted


what if the switch is in OFF position, wouldnt there be a battery leak? since the hot line is there
[/b]
PwrRngr

Joined: Jul 19 2007
Posts: 4407


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:40 am

fossildj wrote:
bad venge wrote:
You'll wire position one to provide + to light them then run a RELAY to trigger on the negitive ground to provide positive power to the lights in position two...

OR connect the LED's to a hot line ,then you can run the switch as the ground and position one GROUNDS the LED's and lights them and position two uses the door switches to ground them and light them ...
The second method will not work if the switch is lighted


what if the switch is in OFF position, wouldnt there be a battery leak? since the hot line is there
[/b]

You must have a complete circuit for any current to flow.
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:55 am

PwrRngr wrote:
You must have a complete circuit for any current to flow.

noted

hi, please take a look at my diagram.

on : permanetly on
off : off the led
door : follow my car door switch (the car door switch is NEGATIVE powered)

base on my diagram, where should i wire the door negative wire?

User posted image
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:00 am

The - from the LED's goes to the MIDDLE terminal on the Switch
The - From the battery (or any ground goes to the left terminal
The Door pin switch - goes to the far right terminal
(sorry no paint shop here )
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:20 am

Hows this? seems ok?

Btw the car have 4 doors, and each door got its switch. Do i have to link all 4 wires to the far right terminal or just 1(probably the driver side door) will do?

User posted image
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:30 am

That will work
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:10 pm

bad venge wrote:
That will work


thanks alot!! icon_biggrin.gif

what about my car door switch? do i need all 4 doors to be link to the switch or just 1 will do?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:37 pm

If you'd tap it at the - side on the dome opening any door will light the leds , tapping one only that door will light them
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:40 pm

bad venge wrote:
If you'd tap it at the - side on the dome opening any door will light the leds , tapping one only that door will light them


hmm so i gottta tap to the dome light?

door switch cant?
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:29 am

thanks guys for your help..

finally done

User posted image
josh9015

Joined: Sep 05 2003
Posts: 2256
Location: Melbourne, Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:35 am

you need to have your car looked at. your sterring wheel is on the wrong side.

looks good.
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:58 am

User posted image

above is the resistor i used to wire up my 3 super bright white led to 1 resistor.

after around 1 mth of installing my pillar lights, 1 set of my LED started blinking..

any one know wats wrong?

could it be the wrong resistor value i am using?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:37 am

If they are blinking it's likely a loose or bad connection or a soldering point coming loose , pinched wire or something of that nature
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:22 am

i am quite sure nth is wrong with the connection or watsoever..

could it be the resistor value wrong?

or do i nd to have a voltage stabalizer?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:00 am

If you used the same resistor on all the cluster and only ONE is blinking that tells me it's a connection ....
Otherwise they'd ALL be blinking icon_wink.gif
fossildj

Joined: May 05 2009
Posts: 36


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:31 am

not one led blinking..

1 cluster of led bring (3 led)
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:01 am

Thats what I mean if only 1 CLUSTER is blinking and ALL of them are wired the same they would ALL be blinking puppy_dog_eyes.gif
PwrRngr

Joined: Jul 19 2007
Posts: 4407


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:58 am

fossildj wrote:
i am quite sure nth is wrong with the connection or watsoever..

could it be the resistor value wrong?

or do i nd to have a voltage stabalizer?

No, LEDs don't go on and of at low voltage. The more voltage that's applied, the brighter they get. The only reason they would blink is if they are on a blinker circuit or you have a loose connection.

Get a multi meter our and measure the voltage at the LEDs as they blink.
The time now is Tue May 22, 2018 12:52 am
Page 1 of 1