Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Best barcode type to use for inventory management?

Author
Owner, Oznium.com

Are you sure you want to delete this post?

Post Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:33 pm

I'm new to barcodes, and am trying to figure out the best type to use for printing on inventory labels for my e-commerce shop.

I don't need to store much data at all. It doesn't even have to be alphanumeric. And it will probably be under 15 digits.

I'm debating between 1D and 2D. Which is easier to read? I tend to like 2D better because they look "cooler", and maybe the customer will think they look cooler as well.

It also seems that the 2D barcodes can take up less physical space on the label.

To clarify, Oznium will be the end user of these barcodes.

Going to be sending the factories in China a couple barcode printers, and barcode label stock, as well as a PDF generated by me which they will print when I place a large order.

The products will then only be sold through Oznium's online store, direct to the customer.

The barcodes will help in receiving inventory, doing routine inventories, and mainly help in making sure the customer gets what they order. Its annoying when someone orders a red and they get a blue by mistake. Absent-minded monkeys.

I've got a few barcode scanners on the way and I'll begin testing how easy it is to scan various barcode types.

Code 128 Auto:
User posted image

QR Code:
User posted image

PDF417:
User posted image
Cooper

Post Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:46 pm

Yay, barcodes ! icon_biggrin.gif