Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Power Source in my trunk? scion tc

Author
Message
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:47 pm

Alright, so I wanna place 4 cathodes in my trunk and I want the lights to turn on when I unlock my car/ open the doors or trunk.

I drive a 2010 tc and I saw on the left side of the trunk, there's a little amber light that turns on with the car's trunk opening or door opening. It also has a switch on it that turns the light on or off. I was wondering how to tap into that power source and if its a good power source to hook my cathodes to. Also if I can use that, will it auto dim the cathodes or will it just completely turn it on/off. Im asking cuz when I swapped my dome lights, the lights dim like the factory.

Also, how do I get the light out? I've seen pictures someplace on the net that the guy had the piece in his hand.

Thanks for respones!
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:27 pm

DO NOT dim /fade cathodes they need full voltage on/off only or the transformer will fail
Tdawgthegreatest

Joined: Jul 22 2007
Posts: 5093
Location: Florence, Oregon


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:28 pm

I'd imagine going LED would be better for you application. Being that if you DO tap into that light in your trunk, the Cathodes will NOT like dimming.

And get what light out? The light out of the cathode tube?
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 pm

Im not sure what to call it but Im sure its an either on or off power supply. Its inside the trunk on the left side. I guess i wont be dimming them but is this a good power source and will it turn on/off with the doors opening and closing?
Tdawgthegreatest

Joined: Jul 22 2007
Posts: 5093
Location: Florence, Oregon


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:27 pm

well if you open your trunk and it turns on, then I'd suggest tapping into those wires.
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:42 pm

Ill tap into those then but now does anyone know how to get the covering off?
Tdawgthegreatest

Joined: Jul 22 2007
Posts: 5093
Location: Florence, Oregon


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:45 pm

User posted image

IT look like this?
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:10 pm

I cant really tell if your car has them but here's what mine looks like.

Its a pretty close shot and on the left side of my trunk.

Sorry I can't get a good pic since its raining outside.

User posted image

Trunks kinda messy. Snowboards in it xD

And here's one I found online.



Its that small white thing. Kinda hidden with the cargo cover.
clutch1

Joined: Oct 08 2006
Posts: 1928
Location: around hurr.


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:57 pm

Just an FYI, one way to eliminate the worries of dimming damaging anything is to make the car's light control a relay that turns the cathodes on/off! Always either on or off.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:12 am

I'd go with LED products instead of cathodes
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:52 am

You can pop it off with a screwdriver. Or you could always replace that light with Oznium's 1.0x1.5" ultra thin led dome. Actually made that size specifically for the tC trunk light.
zup89_4

Joined: Sep 02 2009
Posts: 150
Location: Portland OR


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:22 am

i just tapped into the wires that came up to the light ( popped it out with a skrewdriver^^) then mounted 2x 9inch blue stips on either side of my trunk its super bright back there and they go on and off when i open/close the hatch
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:38 am

Alright. my cathodes should fine to tap into that wire then. Now i gotta wait for them to come in. Stupid usps doesnt understand the meaning of the word priority. its already been 6 business days and my package hasnt arrived yet.
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:44 am

You never did say if that light dims when you close the hatch or if it dims at turn on ... Do your interior lights dim ?
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 16, 2010 2:24 pm

Well that trunk light just turns on and off but the two dome lights dim. I just popped it off and saw the wires. I think red would be positive and the orange is the ground.
Am I right?
zup89_4

Joined: Sep 02 2009
Posts: 150
Location: Portland OR


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:19 pm

yeah red is positive,.. then just ground the negative into the body.. i would go with LED's though IMO... but the trunk doesnt dim... so you should be OK..
Tdawgthegreatest

Joined: Jul 22 2007
Posts: 5093
Location: Florence, Oregon


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm

I'd do What Phil suggested. the 1.5"x1.0" Superthin LED Domelight. They are really bright, LED. and a Direct plug and play from the bulb.

https://www.oznium.com/led-dome/thin-led-domelight
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:55 pm

Well I got my cathodes and I did all the wiring and used the power wire, the red wire. I plugged the car battery back on and the cathodes worked but the other light was dim. But after a while, the cathodes stopped working and the dim light wasn't dim anymore. Confused...
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:45 pm

icon_rolleyes.gif I ASKED twice does the light dim from the factory , you never answered ...
I WARNED that if it dims it will damage the cathodes ...

I'd check the fuse you might have a short or damaged wiring
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:45 pm

bad venge wrote:
icon_rolleyes.gif I ASKED twice does the light dim from the factory , you never answered ...
I WARNED that if it dims it will damage the cathodes ...

I'd check the fuse you might have a short or damaged wiring


Agreed. One thing I see this forum getting away from is the people saying "Hardwire your lights" now people are tapping into stuff, messing with factory wiring way too much for my liking.

Stuff like this happens. icon_cool.gif
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:02 pm

I checked it with a different transformer and different cathodes but they don'twork. The light I'm trying to pull power from does not dim. Everything was soldered together.

I just cut the wires off now and resoldered new wiring for the power wire and the trunk light still works. I don't know why the transformer weren't pulling power from the wire though.

Should I get a new fuse?
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:14 pm

The wire gauge might be too small to provide the proper power for the transformer. They run at a fairly low power draw, but when they turn on they draw alot more power.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:18 am

I just don't see the attraction to cathodes.

I guess it could be their low price point?

They are still a good seller, but LEDs are just so much better.

Btw, you didn't extend the white wires at all did you? That'd be bad.

Anyways, we're here to help.
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:20 am

I didn't extend the white wires at all. And both wires are 18 gauges. I like cathodes cuz its a straight line. If this doesn't work, ill switch to leds though.


Last edited by Blue Pwnda on Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:44 am

You shouldn't have the tubes visible. You should only be able to see the glow.
Blue Pwnda

Joined: Mar 12 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Waldorf, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:59 am

Should I switch to a different wire or wire it to draw power from the center cig lighter?
The time now is Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:17 pm
Page 1 of 1