Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

What is the best way to wire led strips?

Author

Are you sure you want to delete this post?

Post Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:08 am

Hi,
I'm new to wiring leds, I'm unsure how to go about it, here's how I THINK I should wire led strips

Should I use a 12 or 24v battery for two 12v strips? Do I need to add anything else?

btw, I'm putting them inside a gutted computer case.

Thanks in advance!
Cooper

Post Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:26 am

You will still want to use a 12 volt power supply or battery for any number of strips wired together in the same installation . Is the computer case gutted of the power supply too ? If not you can use the 12v rail on the power supply to power your LED strips instead of a battery (or maybe that's what you're already planning on) . icon_biggrin.gif

You don't want to wire the LED strips in series though, which is how you have it pictured . You'll want something like this instead .

User posted image

The difference is in your plan the power has to travel through one strip to get to the next strip .
In the second picture each strip has direct access to the power, but the switch still interrupts the ground wire for both strips so they'll turn on and off together . Hope that clarifies, it was a hastily done picture while I take a break from weekend cleaning . icon_biggrin.gif
macman123

Post Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:46 am

Thanks! Very helpful, it makes sense, since each strip gets direct power, they will both get a full 12v, right? And if 1 strip goes out for some reason, the other will still work. So I just split/splice/whatever the line to create 2 lines?