Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

led wiring for rv awning

Author

Are you sure you want to delete this post?

Post Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:20 pm

newbie with a question. I want to install a led light strip to my rv awning. The kit I ordered is capable of 110 volt or 12 volt. I have installed a cigarette plug into a 12 volt battery case and a 3 amp fuse. I want to wire led strip to power (male) plug that fits into cigarette lighter. This will be a 12 volt deep cycle battery that is portable. How do I connect the strip to the adaptor that sticks into the cig. lighter?

Thanks for any icon_rolleyes.gif advice or diagrams etc., as I am new to electricity, led's and wiring.
Chris

Post Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:50 am

https://www.oznium.com/forum/topic20

Some nice diagrams in there. I am having a hard time understanding what you have, and would like to do.
bad venge

Post Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:33 am

On a cigarette lighter plug the pointed end is the Positive the side terminals are the negative
Wire the plug into the LEDs accordingly
retired&bored

Post Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:00 am

Thanks Chris, I know this has nothing to do with cars. I will try to explain better as to what I am going to try. I am retired and wife and I bought a travel trailer, we plan on boondocking primarily. This means camping off the grid, meaning no hookups like electricity etc. I have two 12 volt deep cycle batteries and am switching to two 6 volt golf cart type Trojan batteries which will last longer. I am trying to conserve as much electric draw as possible. I just purchased from China, LED lights for my interior lighting as they will draw only about 1/10 the amps, giving me more time in between charges. I have two Yamaha 2000 generators for charging and a schumacher automatic battery charger.