Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Question on LED type rocker switch Oznium sells

Author
Message
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:21 am

Saw this thread here https://www.oznium.com/forum/topic18145
can't reply to it cause it's too old so I'm forced to ask my newb question in a new thread.

That said, I'd like to order one of these from Phil. However I want the LED light to ONLY come on when my accessory is NOT receiving power thus off.

Can this be done?
Thanks in advance!
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:13 am

YES it can be done using a relay it would turn the relay on (so the light will be on)

But wire the accessory to the N/C contacts and when you turn the switch off the relay will turn off and give power to the acessory
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:02 am

I feel dumber.
In the diagram linked in my OP, where would I install the relay?
And what is the N/C contacts?
Sorry you're dealing with a newb icon_sad.gif puppy_dog_eyes.gif
jmoddes

Joined: Apr 25 2011
Posts: 2142
Location: Kenosha, Wi


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:58 am

relay can truly be installed anywhere... just the BEST spot to install them is close to where the connections are made.
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:12 am

User posted image

I'll give you the wiring info later
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:32 am

Thanks bad V
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:59 am

ground 86
power from output of switch pin 85
pin 30 whatever the load is to be turned on
87a power thru the fuse to supply load
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:00 am

gracias Bad V.
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:15 am

Bad v, (or anyone else)

will it make things more complicated now that I ordered this push button switch rather then a rocker switch that I mentioned in the op?

Here is link to what I bought:
push in LED button switch https://www.oznium.com/switches/waterproof-led-switch
relay https://www.oznium.com/wire-12v-and-relays/relay40
relay harness https://www.oznium.com/wire-12v-and-relays/relay-harness

Not sure if I'll need the harness but I thought I'd order it anyways. It's on backorder though icon_sad.gif IF I don't need the harness black V I'll call and cancel it. Re-looking at your diagram I think the push button switch comes with all the wires I'll need. IF I cancel the harness my order will ship today. If I don't cancel there is no ETA on the backorder
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:02 am

You CAN use spade lugs on the relay or solder , no harness needed
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:40 am

tis what I thought. Gracias BAD V
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:43 am

bad venge wrote:
ground 86
power from output of switch pin 85
pin 30 whatever the load is to be turned on
87a power thru the fuse to supply load


power wire from the push button switch will be soldered onto pin 85

pin 30 I will soder my power wire from the accessory I am wanting to turn on

87a will have power wire from battery in the car

86 I will make a ground wire and ground it to chassis of car... OR are you saying use ground wire from the push button switch?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:24 pm

ground to chasis doesn't need to be the same as the switch
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:32 am

Gotcha! So ground the relay and ALSO the push button switch. Dually noted. Makes sense. Thanks Bad V
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:57 pm

Bad venge, what do you make of this sir?

The first video shows the push in switch working as intended. When power is provided to accessory the red light turns on.




However in the bottom video I wired it up as stated in post 12 above:
But as you can see when power is NOT provided to the accessory the red light stays off icon_sad.gif
I messed something up didn't I?

J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:00 pm

VIDEO CAN BE SEEN IN 720P and blown up to take up your screen if you prefer that method.
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:59 pm

I'd guess that the switch isn't grounded causing the light to not work
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:10 pm

I had the switch wrapped around the 86 terminal of the relay then the 86 terminal connected to the black wire from the power box.

Maybe it just needs it's own ground? I'll use a 9v ground for that and try again. Thanks Bad V
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:22 pm

Strange. I tried the 9v trick. No dice. I grounded the switches ground to the 9v ground.

I know the relay works cause when I touch the power wire from the switch to the 85 terminal then the ground from the switch to the 30 terminal and press the switch button inwards it lights up.

IT also lights up with the button pushed inwards when touching the ground wire of the button switch to 86 and the power wire from the button switch to the 87a.

The good thing is that I'm learning as I do this so thank you Bad v for your guidance on this one. I'll also try this when I get home too and literally ground to the car
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:27 pm

hook it up directly as in the first video you might have blew the diode or it failed
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:54 pm

bad venge wrote:
hook it up directly as in the first video you might have blew the diode or it failed


Yeap, LED switch button is working as it should when I remove it from the relay... Strange huh?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:26 pm

then sounds like a wiring error to the relay , I mocked it up last night and worked fine here
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:47 pm

I'll re-wire and re-shoot new video.
Sorry for troubles :(

I'm-a get it right though!
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:41 pm

Bad V, what do you think about this instead....

My original idea in the OP was to have the switches LED (in this case a red one) light up when NOT pushed in. Opposite of how it should work
Then when I push the switch in to send power to the accessory it STOPs lighting up the LED....

How about this idea instead. I think it would be easier too.

When switch is pushed in it turns on LED like the switch was designed to, HOWEVER it will CUT power to the accessory.
Then when switch is recessed with ring aka turned "off" it instead SENDS power to the accessory.
What do you think???
If doable how would I wire this to relay?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 15, 2012 1:07 pm

THAT is what I have you doing .... the light is on with switch in , Then when you turn switch off the accesory recieves power
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Well I'm an idiot. I'll try that again then.
Striris

Joined: Aug 25 2012
Posts: 4


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:40 am

J. Dub wrote:
.Saw this thread here https://www.oznium.com/forum/topic18145
can't reply to it cause it's too old so I'm forced to ask my newb question in a new thread.

That said, I'd like to order one of these from Phil. However I want the to ONLY come on when my accessory is NOT receiving power thus off.


Can this be done?
Thanks in advance!


Thanks for mentioning this question I do have same probelm


Last edited by Striris on Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:39 pm, edited 2 times in total
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:37 pm

Bad v what do i do with the brown wire coming off the push button switch?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:52 pm

J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:44 pm

That may be my problem Bad V.
Pin 30 has the red power wire from my accessory lights hooked up to it.
Should i unhook it from pin 30, leaving pin 30 alone and solder to the brown acc wire?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 29, 2012 2:52 am

The BROWN wire should be feeding the coil of the relay pin 85
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:54 am

bad venge wrote:
The BROWN wire should be feeding the coil of the relay pin 85

Sheet! I thought the red power wire of the push button switch goes on pin 85?

So I'll unhook the red power wire from pin 85, place the brown wire in it's place...
But when I do that where does the red power wire for the push button switch go?


Last edited by J. Dub on Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:04 am

Here is what I have and am looking at right now. Sorry for my confusion:

On my relay I have created ground wire and tapped into the 86 pin and grounded the other side to my car.
Pin 30 has the red power wire of my lights hooked on it.
The lights have been grounded to the car.
Pin 87a has red power wire I created leading to the cars battery.
I took the black wire that is on the push button switch and grounded it.
Pin 85 NOW has the brown wire coming form the push button switch hooked on it.


What I have questions on:
What do I do with the red wire coming form the push button switch?
Do I leave pin 87 alone?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:50 am

Red wire needs power from fuse , Can be switched by the ignition if you want to turn them off with key (recomended) Or can tap same wire from battery , only thing is there will bo constant draw , and iff left on will kill battery

pin 87 empty
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:01 am

I actually want these lights to be on even if car is off.
So to accomplish this I need to tap the red wire of the push in switch on to the wire coming from the battery... Got it. I will try this.

Thanks Bad V !!!

P.S. the lights only draw around .2 amps... I'm hoping the battery wouldn't get drained unless of course I left the lights on for days on end without starting the car.
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:12 pm

Bad V, Thank you again.
I finally got it all wired up correctly.
You'll notice I don't have a fuse on the power wire coming from the battery.
But I do have one on the power wire going to the lights.

I worry if I should put a fuse on the power wire coming from the battery also since the relay was already hot after just 5 minutes of use?

Anywho, here is the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ki0GeY3ql2o

Thank you again
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:09 pm

YES you need a fuse on the power from the battery very close to the battery,

the relay will heat up as it is on
J. Dub

Joined: Aug 03 2010
Posts: 29


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:39 pm

Okie doke will add a fuse there too. A 4amp one since the lights and cameras combined only draw 2amps
Thanks again!
The time now is Tue May 22, 2018 8:50 am
Page 1 of 1