Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

3-position switch wiring?

Author
Message
Vannelli

Joined: Dec 05 2012
Posts: 7


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:30 pm

has anyone wired in a *on/off/on* switch with LEDs?

I am going to have 4 LEDs wired into one switch

I want to wire the switch so it is powered like so.
On- Powered by dimmer/headlight switch. (Running lights, dash lights, ect.)
Off
On- Constant power.

I want this so i can turn my LEDs on while the truck is off, but have the other setting so i dont accidentally leave the LEDs on all the time.

I feel like this should be easy, but i cant wrap my head around wiring this.
My switch has 6 connections in the back of it.

Let me know if you need anymore info on my set-up.
All feedback is appreciated ! thanks!
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:13 am

It SOUNDS like you have a double pole switch ...

You reallly only need to wire one side. (Three connections)

Verify with a meter that the center is the output

Wire the incoming from the dimmer thru a fuse to the one connection (top or bottom)

Wire the incoming from constant power thru a fuse to the opposite connection
Vannelli

Joined: Dec 05 2012
Posts: 7


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:11 am

yes excuse me, it is a double pole switch.

So if the switch has connectors on the back like,

12
34
56

I should only need to wire in 2(input),4(output), and 6(secondary input)?
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:28 am

Yes
Vannelli

Joined: Dec 05 2012
Posts: 7


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:27 pm

Thank you very much!
Ill get some pics up when i get the project done!
PrinceCharming.16

Joined: Jan 09 2013
Posts: 3


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:18 am

This is how i want mine but they are RGB and i want to be able to control them whether its in the constant on or accessory on position. How do i do this?
The time now is Thu May 24, 2018 4:55 am
Page 1 of 1