Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Terrible Gas Mileage

Author
Message
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:14 pm

i get terrible gas mileage, im talking like 12gallons to every 150 miles, i dont floor it all the time, or anything, but im supposed to get 22 city and like 27 highway, is there anyway to diagnos wtf is wrong, cause its **** me off
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7721


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:21 pm

Patch the hole in the bottom of your gas tank biglaugh.gif
Golfer

Joined: Aug 23 2004
Posts: 1290
Location: Milwaukee, WI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:24 pm

Ouch, that hurts the wallet at 2.40 a gallon icon_lol.gif
Toastr

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 1105
Location: Oak Harbor, WA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:32 pm

There was an article a while ago about this, I'll see if I can dig it up when I get home...

*edit*
Here we go: http://money.cnn.com/2004/09/02/pf/autos/epa/index.htm

I'm a little ticked off by this ^^, since it's one of the reasons I bought my xB - 30/34 city/hwy. But I'm lucky to get over 27, and I'm not leadfooting it around, nor am I hauling a huge sound system (yet). Blah.
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:39 pm

could be a number of things..... things i would check first... would be a new fuel filter... and a new o2 sensor........
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:52 pm

Tune up and filter and blah blah. Get a Moped also. icon_cool.gif
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:57 pm

I think Spkrman's K5 wins the 'Crappiest Gas Mileage' contest. Even beats you, Taylor.
silvertab4019

Joined: Jan 24 2005
Posts: 433
Location: Denham Springs, Louisiana


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:57 pm

mopeds get like 40+ miles to the gallon... and thats flooring it!
But, its really hard to look good on one. I've seen a few hot chicks on them around the campus of LSU, but never a cool looking dude.

toyota corolla's get great gas milage!


Last edited by silvertab4019 on Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:59 pm

my first car use to get 5-6 mpg city and then about 12-13 highway..... it was tough keeping that thing driving when your a 16 year old with only a part time job.. and having to fill it up every 4-5 days with 89 octane icon_eek.gif
Toastr

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 1105
Location: Oak Harbor, WA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:12 pm

Aken wrote:
I think Spkrman's K5 wins the 'Crappiest Gas Mileage' contest. Even beats you, Taylor.

I get a whopping 4mpg in the Bug icon_biggrin.gif
cardinalsfan

Joined: Jan 08 2005
Posts: 1707
Location: OKC


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:26 pm

Moss wrote:
Tune up and filter and blah blah. Get a Moped also. icon_cool.gif


mopeds are like fat girls...great and fun to ride until your friends see you on one....lol
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:32 pm

cardinalsfan wrote:
mopeds are like fat girls...great and fun to ride until your friends see you on one....lol



HAHAHAHA, true
corvettecrazy

Joined: Dec 17 2003
Posts: 4357
Location: moved (twice)


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:33 pm

spark plugs & wires , O2 sensor , fuel filter , air filter
silvertab4019

Joined: Jan 24 2005
Posts: 433
Location: Denham Springs, Louisiana


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm

thats like those mini bikes (pocket bikes)! they are stupid unless your talking about 150cc's or higher. My best friend (with the only Miata in ozniums gallery) and his dad started a buisness of selling the 49cc mini bikes at fleamarkets. Dont get me wrong, he's making good money, but these things are worse than mopeds! You cant even ride them on the street. He's so proud of the one he has too. It's funny. I tell him about stuff that i do to my truck and he talks about "tweeking" his little bike to get faster. What a load! 21mph to 21.2mph is not bragging rights!

Anyone else know what im talking about?
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:33 pm

medium is like 2.19 here, i hadda put that in this week. that article is really good, just is alot of ppl with y car get much better mileage lol. how can i check if i need new sensors, also people keep saying get your codes cleared, what does that mean

O and if you guys are interested in it, EXP4 additives are supposed to be very good at reducing friction within the engine. They have an oil additive and a fuel additive so everything is lubed.

http://store.advancedfluidsolutions.com/merchan...=DieselAdditive&id=additives


Last edited by SuBXeRo on Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:38 pm

codes would be your check engine light...........if your check engine light is on....your throwing a code... since your car is OBD2... you can buy a scanner tool and see what the code is and that will usually tell you what the problem is thats making your car throw a code.... or you can goto a shop and have this done for you.........
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:46 pm

well my check engine light isnt ont hank god knock on wood
Knox

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 6851
Location: Orlando, FL


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:49 pm

I hate gas and it's cost.
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

x2 uggg it bothers me so much that my mileage is this terrible
corvettecrazy

Joined: Dec 17 2003
Posts: 4357
Location: moved (twice)


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:04 pm

you can't really check sensors, you just replace them.

You definately need some basic tune up items.
plugs
wires
O2 sensor
possibily, PCV and EGR valves
an old CAT can hurt mpg
air filter
carbon build up on throttle body
bad fuel injectors
the list can go on and on


to give you an idea. The bonneville was getting low 17mpg city BEFORE I changed the spark plugs and wires. Now it gets mid 18s city and my mom went to NY and got high 20's. Although from her trip time she was hauling ass.
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:55 pm

wow ermm, def needa look into that, my cat looks old, my whole muffler system looks like ****, i need new muffler hangers soon, the whole pipe just looks rusted
pOrk

Joined: Jan 03 2004
Posts: 8391
Location: Milwaukee Wi


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:58 pm

My van gets good milage, about 6 to the gal icon_twisted.gif
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:09 pm

well i guess ill need to get a new air filter, a coneone, need to find that, clean the throttle body which im not gonna do till i get the filter, and i guess new fuel filter, o2 sensors, spark plugs.
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:14 pm

you'd probably only need a new primary O2 sensor.. since the secondary one is only there to tell if the cat is working or not... the primary one determines your air/fuel ratio.. which would be causing you to use to much fuel (running rich)... pull your plugs and check if they seem really black.....and check if theres black smoke coming out of your exhaust at all....
mccook8

Joined: Jun 01 2004
Posts: 744


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:14 pm

Since nobody else has mentioned it, I will:

Check your tire pressure.

Underinflated tires = crappy fuel economy.
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:17 pm

i was thinking about mentioning it... but it seems like such a drastic drop... that he would have to have some flat tires.. for the drop to be that great....im sure some under inflated tires would get about 2-3 less mpg but 10 less........of course then it could be all of the above mentioned things adding up together at once... and then it would make sense biglaugh.gif
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:29 pm

my fuel mileage sucks too.....i need to replace my fuel filter...i dont think its ever been done before icon_evil.gif
Mav

Joined: Nov 26 2003
Posts: 2675
Location: So Cal


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:31 pm

some of you need to learn your math.. 2.4 miles to the gallon.. you're smoking crack.. he's getting a little over 12 miles to the gallon...

I'd check the O2 sensor as well. It's probably a bad sensor. Also check to make sure your gas cap is sealing properly. That can cause the computer to misread info and pump too much gas into your engine. We had a guy that had that problem with one of the company vans, and all it was, was a bad gas cap. Replaced it, and gained 10mpg.
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 13, 2005 7:38 pm

wow really? never woulda thought that
GoldenRod

Joined: Oct 27 2003
Posts: 709
Location: Long Island, NY


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Apr 14, 2005 4:30 am

Mav wrote:
some of you need to learn your math.. 2.4 miles to the gallon.. you're smoking crack.. he's getting a little over 12 miles to the gallon...



The 2.40 was the cost of gas per gallon.... $2.40. That's what it is here, not the MPG.
Some of you need to learn to read..... biglaugh.gif
taylor192

Joined: Dec 08 2004
Posts: 277


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:24 am

I had terrible gas mileage in my old car - hole in top of the gas tank. If it was a faulty gas cap or tank, you'd smell the gas.

Alternatively, sell everything and move to Canada. $16.5K CND gets you a Smart car - 60+ mpg on deisel. Some have reported getting over 70 mpg.

Checkout pics of T1NY on the ICELED forums. The size of the Smart allows the underglow to have a dramatic effect!
jol102001

Joined: Feb 12 2004
Posts: 5815
Location: Lake Charles, LA -- USA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:43 am

That has to be the biggest sig i've ever seen biglaugh.gif
TheBrick

Joined: Oct 07 2003
Posts: 4140
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:45 am

haha no kidding.

and 12 mpg doesnt sound too bad.
silvertab4019

Joined: Jan 24 2005
Posts: 433
Location: Denham Springs, Louisiana


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:50 pm

buy a new car. Blow that one up and collect the insurance money.
Mav

Joined: Nov 26 2003
Posts: 2675
Location: So Cal


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:00 am

There wasn't any smell of Gasoline. Your gas tank is only pressurized when your engine is running, and when your engine is running, you are usually inside your car driving. Thus you won't smell anything. If it's sitting in the garage, the cap may be sealed well enough so that with no pressure it doesn't leak fumes etc...
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:20 pm

Performance Buff: corvette crazys post is inaccurate
Performance Buff: you can't really check sensors, you just replace them.
Performance Buff: tell him OZ performance Buff said u cant test sensors

I was asked to post this message for someone unnamed. icon_cool.gif
jol102001

Joined: Feb 12 2004
Posts: 5815
Location: Lake Charles, LA -- USA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:48 pm

Moss wrote:
Performance Buff: corvette crazys post is inaccurate
Performance Buff: you can't really check sensors, you just replace them.
Performance Buff: tell him OZ performance Buff said u cant test sensors

I was asked to post this message for someone unnamed. icon_cool.gif


It wasn't me.... for real
Mav

Joined: Nov 26 2003
Posts: 2675
Location: So Cal


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:40 pm

Moss, you can test them.. you plug a computer diagnostic tool into your computer.. if you get a reading from the O2 sensor, it's probably fine. If you don't, it's broke =P
Cerwin Vega Fan

Joined: Jul 22 2003
Posts: 3001


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:50 pm

As the others have said get your car scanned to see if it is throwing any trouble codes SES does NOT have to come on everytime a DTC is thrown. If the scanner is a good one it can also check other parameters of the car like O2 sensor voltage output. Plugs could be fouled, wires could have a voltage leak (use a spray bottle to check for this), bad fuel regulator, clogged filter, their are so many things that can go wrong the best thing to do is to just take them down one by one (IMO start with the easy stuff first). First I would try a bottle of fuel injector cleaner (Lucas, Leading Edge, and Greased Lightning are all good choices) and replace both the air and fuel filter. If that failed look into replacing the spark plugs and wires. Next would be more expensive things like coils, distributor (if the car has one) fuel pressure regulator and injectors.
Cerwin Vega Fan

Joined: Jul 22 2003
Posts: 3001


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:55 pm

Mav wrote:
Moss, you can test them.. you plug a computer diagnostic tool into your computer.. if you get a reading from the O2 sensor, it's probably fine. If you don't, it's broke =P


I don't know how imports work but I know on the OBDI and OBDII ECU's from GM will always read voltage from the O2's (around 450mV). If the reading does not fluctuate while the car is running then the O2 is bad. Japan might use a different method though.
Ryan88

Joined: Aug 09 2004
Posts: 3516
Location: Pittsburgh, PA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:04 pm

my dad has one of those computer things, they plug in to any car and take readings from any car too.
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:53 am

Moss wrote:
Performance Buff: corvette crazys post is inaccurate
Performance Buff: you can't really check sensors, you just replace them.
Performance Buff: tell him OZ performance Buff said u can test sensors

I was asked to post this message for someone unnamed. icon_cool.gif


You are correct. The buff that told me quoted corvette crazy and I didnt notice that. I thought he wanted to say cant test them. I added the T to the second CAN. The Buff was right the first time. I messed up his answer. icon_cool.gif
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:30 pm

u can tak the sensor out and look at it. obviously if its charred and really dirty, u can most likely use anew one here look at this

old


new
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:08 pm

those are 2 different O2 sensors...
theyll look dirty afer a few months in the exhaust anyways. theres ways to test them but its usually a pain in the ass because theyre not always easily accesible. its easier to have a shop hook it up to the computer or buy your own scanner if you want to spend the money.

i love having a pre OBD=II car. i can just short 2 pins on the diagnostic connector and it will tell me whats wrong by flashing the check engine light. then my chiltons book tells me what those flashes mean icon_cool.gif
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:10 pm

the second sensor is an upgraded model to the first, well i can check my codes through my ecu, but knock on wood, i have no check engine light right now, i could have a ghost code, but how much would having them checked be or w/e
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:14 pm

ususally getting them checked cost upwards of a hundred bucks depending on the shop... its expensive!
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:33 pm

ok its come downt o the replacement of the knock sensor or the o2 sensors, both are likely candidates, the two o2 sensors are 120 total and 1 knock is 120
Cerwin Vega Fan

Joined: Jul 22 2003
Posts: 3001


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:39 pm

GlowinPontiac wrote:
ususally getting them checked cost upwards of a hundred bucks depending on the shop... its expensive!


Way to expensive, local shops here will do it for $25.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:41 pm

replace the o2 sensors. there most likely the problem. knock sensor just adjusts the timing a bit to avoid pinging.
Cerwin Vega Fan

Joined: Jul 22 2003
Posts: 3001


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:47 pm

Knock sensor can no way decrease your gas mileage. If yours is out the most you would have to do is run higher octane fuel.
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:12 pm

knock sensors tell the engine to add more fuel and start run diff to avoid any hard hits on the pistons, im saying that cause my friend replaced his after getting very similar mileage as i get and is now getting the mileage he should
jethawk

Joined: Jul 07 2004
Posts: 1242
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:36 pm

im sticking with O2's
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:57 pm

I suggest taking it to a mechanic. Obviously over the net we cant make a decision your seem pretty much uneducated or overwhelmed by the problem. Maybe a high-school/trade school could help the situation in their shop. Take it to the pros. icon_cool.gif
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:08 pm

HEHEH, well i checked my ECU codes, we have a way with our car, u twist a knob on the ECU it flashes the CEL with a certain pattern. Count up the slow pulses and then the fast pulses. Next you input the number into a decoder and from there it tells you what the problem is. I got an 0304 code which is the knock sensor code. It was a ghost code meaning it never triggered the CEL, but i know that the knock is the prob so i ordered a new knock tonight. this deserves a mj.gif
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:28 pm

congrats on getting it all figured out.
SuBXeRo

Joined: Oct 31 2003
Posts: 1891
Location: River Edge NJ and Scottsdale AZ


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:32 pm

tanky ou, lez just hope it works, im having it installed, i dont feel like dealing with asuch a sensite piece and its abitch to install and i dont have a torque wrench
The time now is Wed May 23, 2018 11:08 pm
Page 1 of 1