Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Making lights turn on when doors open

Author
Message
big_will

Joined: Jun 07 2005
Posts: 107
Location: wisconsin


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jan 28, 2006 4:21 pm

ok this its gonna seem stupid but i want my lights to come on when i open any car door if i tap into just one door that will work for all of them correct??
alkatmsu

Joined: Nov 08 2005
Posts: 1560
Location: Kentucky


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:32 pm

Opening any one of your doors turns the dome light on, so it should work. Just be sure to tap into it after the switch, so that when the dome light gets power, so does whatever you're wanting to power.
big_will

Joined: Jun 07 2005
Posts: 107
Location: wisconsin


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:54 pm

aight thanks. now i gotta something to do once it stops raining and is there anyway i can also run them of a toggle?
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:34 pm

check to see if the dome light switches the negative or positive wire. most switch negative but you can never be sure.
audio_excessories

Joined: Aug 20 2005
Posts: 1662
Location: Michigan/ Florida


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:57 pm

If it switches negative use a relay....you'll get good steady current and is safer for the stock wiring.
big_will

Joined: Jun 07 2005
Posts: 107
Location: wisconsin


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:54 pm

GlowinPontiac wrote:
check to see if the dome light switches the negative or positive wire. most switch negative but you can never be sure.

how can i test that without breaking something?? would a mutlimeter work??
01SIlverSc2

Joined: Apr 03 2006
Posts: 20


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:02 pm

does this exclude tapping into factory wiring ? Or would it be safe to do so , say a set of thodes? nothing crazy tho , rite? icon_wink.gif
BuryTheNeedle

Joined: Apr 21 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Rhode Island


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon May 01, 2006 11:51 am

did it on my gf's tc, i used a relay with a switch on 87a, it's a negative trigger, don't forget to diode isolate each trigger away from each other
dddx880

Joined: Jan 30 2006
Posts: 919
Location: Wellington FL


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon May 01, 2006 12:26 pm

big_will wrote:

how can i test that without breaking something?? would a mutlimeter work??


yes you can use a multimeter
BuryTheNeedle

Joined: Apr 21 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Rhode Island


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu May 04, 2006 5:07 pm

what kind of car is it year make model and ill tell you what wires, you need usually 2 diodes + 1 relay
funkrocker

Joined: Jun 02 2006
Posts: 1


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:50 am

hey guys I have a 02 Mazda Protege. I a have 2 multicolor LED running to an MI. What I would liek to do is have it so when the doors open my LEDS go on but at the same time I want to be able to hook it to some sort of power so I can run it when my doors are closed. Would a DPST relay work?? please explain in detail i'm kind of new with car lighting.
Thanks,
funk
binhbinh

Joined: Jun 02 2006
Posts: 1


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:58 pm

Can anyone tell me how to wire this up with a little diagrahm? I tried doing it but my relay made this really loud noise when it switched. Maybe I did something wrong.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7721


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:06 pm

the loud noise is normal
my02gt

Joined: Jun 15 2006
Posts: 12


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:29 pm

OK...I'm gettin ready to order some cathodes but before I do, I wanna know how to do this. Sorry if I sound dumb but I am a "rookie" to the wiring business. I want to put to Cathodes in my trunk that turn on when my trunk does. I have read to "tap" into wires, my guess would be my trunk light, exactly how do I do that. Also, I will be ordering 2 cathodes for my driver/passenger footwell and 2 for my backseat that I would like to come on when my door opens as well as have them on a switch. How do I do that. A diagram is probably easiest. Like I said I'm sorry if I sound dumb, I just need some help as to "tapping" into things. Thanks again.
BuryTheNeedle

Joined: Apr 21 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Rhode Island


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 16, 2006 10:47 am

for the trunk i'd tap directly off the wires going to the light, if your going to go crazy with lights then use a relay
Losing quickly

Joined: Apr 26 2005
Posts: 5706
Location: SC


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:16 pm

I have a set of cathodes that turn on when I open my trunk. I just cut the stock wire going to the factory light, took out the light, and wired up a set of cathodes to the factory wireing.
my02gt

Joined: Jun 15 2006
Posts: 12


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:59 pm

OK. Thanks but like I said I am a rookie and dont know what to do. Im not puttin a bunch of lights in, just a set of cathodes.
my02gt

Joined: Jun 15 2006
Posts: 12


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:02 pm

bump
Losing quickly

Joined: Apr 26 2005
Posts: 5706
Location: SC


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:28 pm

should be fine tapping into the factory wiring if its just a set of `thodes
The time now is Tue May 22, 2018 6:30 am
Page 1 of 1