Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

installing cathodes

Author
Message
XB's4Life

Joined: Aug 05 2007
Posts: 5


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:16 am

sorry about this post but im a real noob...can someone explain how to install cathodes? i dont really know what crimping the wires are and stuff..any websites that can help and stuff?? sorryyy reeally nooby stuff here
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2809
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:24 am

please do a search.
there's a link on the cathode page about this.
https://www.oznium.com/forum/topic11824
Mad_Eyes

Joined: Jul 25 2006
Posts: 559


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:32 pm

XB's4Life wrote:
sorry about this post but im a real noob...can someone explain how to install cathodes? i dont really know what crimping the wires are and stuff..any websites that can help and stuff?? sorryyy reeally nooby stuff here


There really isn't any special technique to crimping stuff, u just go out and do it. BTW I'd recommend zip ties over velcro to tie down the cathode bars.
XB's4Life

Joined: Aug 05 2007
Posts: 5


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:48 pm

i did search that link before...it doesnt really help because i dont know the technical things they talk about
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:19 pm

Which part(s) do you need clarification about?
Kevin_S

Joined: Jul 20 2003
Posts: 2809
Location: WV


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:38 pm


that is a wire crimping/stripping tool.

when he says crimp, it simply mean to squeeze the wire into a connector.

watch this video of how to install a fuse holder.


that's crimping and stripping.

what else do you have questions about?
XB's4Life

Joined: Aug 05 2007
Posts: 5


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:48 am

i just need a simple explanation on how to install cathodes because the oznium one i dont understand xD
Drifting10

Joined: May 28 2007
Posts: 1908
Location: St.Joseph, Illinois


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 06, 2007 1:10 am

kevin is that youre vid?
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 06, 2007 1:38 am

Drifting10, Phil made that video.

XB's4Life: The forum post linked above is pretty much one of the simplest explainations of installing cathodes. I'd suggest either reading that thread a few times as well as other areas of our forum to familiarize yourself with terms, expressions, and other technical info before attacking it yourself. Or if you're slightly impatient like myself, find a friend who knows what they're doing and have them come over and help teach you.
main-e-ax

Joined: Jun 28 2007
Posts: 508
Location: Adrian, MI


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:02 am

simple instructions w/ switch

1. hook the cathodes to transformer
2. remove some rubber from around red/black wires coming from transformer
3. remove some of the rubber off a 16/18 gauge wire and connect it to the red wire from the transformer. there is a million ways to do this but since you are new I say you simply twist the wires and then wrap them tight in electrical tape. Now run that wire to the switch you have chosen and connect it to the switch.
4. run 18/16 gauge wire from your power source of choice to the other side of your switch. (if you are really that much of a super-nood i suggest using add-a-circuit. thats what i use and it is very easy. there is an example in the link provided by the cathode page)
5. Run 18/16 gauge wire from the black to any ground on the car. Pretty much it just has to be touching anything that is bare metal. Preferably you should find a bolt somewhere under the dash or near it(assuming the cathodes are going under the dash) then take the bolt out, wrap the wire around. Replace the bolt and ta-da you have a ground. You may have to remove some paint around the bolt for this to work.

It shouldn't be hard to figure out how to mount the cathodes, so have fun. If you do not want a switch ignore those parts of the instructions. Hope that was simple enough? I tried to avoid any "technical" words.
Mad_Eyes

Joined: Jul 25 2006
Posts: 559


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:33 am

Dude he definitely needs add-a-circuit
XB's4Life

Joined: Aug 05 2007
Posts: 5


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:22 pm

after you ground the black wire where does the red one go to?
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:15 am

Your switch.
XB's4Life

Joined: Aug 05 2007
Posts: 5


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:00 am

ok so i got three questions...where can i mount a music interface so ill be able to control it...does the black wire on a music interface go to ground...where can i get a "add a circut"
Aken

Joined: Feb 12 2003
Posts: 10885


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:42 am

1) Wherever you want. Pick a spot!
2) Yes.
3) My local AutoZones have them, or you can buy them online. Here is a good online store for them: Normal | Mini
tCFM08

Joined: Sep 26 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Miami, Fl


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:08 pm

i have 2 questions is it correct that the 08 tc's will require a Add-A-Circuit Fuseholder For Mini Fuses, and what size zip ties is recommended to buy for installing the cathodes
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:58 pm

Yea, if you decide to use an Add-A-Circuit, you'll need the Mini variety!

How about an 8-inch long zip tie!
tCFM08

Joined: Sep 26 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Miami, Fl


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:19 pm

and are the fuses also regular mini blade fuses, because someone was telling me that the 08's take now a mini fuse, but imagine cutting off the 2 blades..this is a pic they sent me,

The time now is Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:20 pm
Page 1 of 1