Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Where to get dummy 194 bulbs?

Author
Message
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 3:26 pm

I want to put cathodes in my trunk and the only power source is the factory 194 bulb slot. I dont want to cut up those wires so is it possible to use a "dummy" 194 bulb that has a red and black wire coming out? Also does anyone know if I can run cathodes from this 194 slot? Do I still need a fuse?
JSewell

Joined: Mar 22 2009
Posts: 464
Location: Texas Raised


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:28 pm

id just cut the wires, and use adapter wire connects
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:41 pm

Hesitant to do that when something like that exists. I have not cut into any factory wires on my cars for my installs. That way should I need to take out these lights for whatever reason I can take them out without having to rewire.
byte

Joined: Mar 25 2009
Posts: 313


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:56 pm

Seven dummy bulbs come with these dome light kits including the one you are looking for.

https://www.oznium.com/led-dome

You might be able to buy one separately, if not just buy a dome light kit and then send the un-used light to me.


Last edited by byte on Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total
byte

Joined: Mar 25 2009
Posts: 313


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:00 pm

sean89 wrote:
I have not cut into any factory wires on my cars for my installs. That way should I need to take out these lights for whatever reason I can take them out without having to rewire.


I agree... I will spend hours to find a way to avoid cutting or tapping into wires. Watch out that the truck switch doesnt have a built in switch to turn out the light when the truck is closed.
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:13 pm

I saw the dummy bulbs in that video. None of them are what I need for the trunk. What I am looking for looks like this:

User posted image
Image by dcemureviews.

The dark grayish part would go into the bulb housing.
byte

Joined: Mar 25 2009
Posts: 313


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:20 pm

sean89 wrote:

...is the factory 194 bulb slot. I dont want to cut up those wires so is it possible to use a "dummy" 194 bulb that has a red and black wire coming out? Also does anyone know if I can run cathodes from this 194 slot? Do I still need a fuse?


The list on the dome lights is here:

We include the seven most common bases with each dome light.
(These bases fit 99% of vehicles)
194/168/T10
BA9S Bayonet
27mm Festoon
31mm Festoon
36mm Festoon
39mm Festoon
44mm Festoon
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:34 pm

Missed that one, you are absolutely right. It will fit. Now to see if I can purchase it by itself. I have emailed Oznium. I hope they say yes.
JSewell

Joined: Mar 22 2009
Posts: 464
Location: Texas Raised


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:04 pm

you won't need a fuse, the stock wire will already have one for it and if your just adding one neon bar, it wouldn't make a big enough difference in amperage draw
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:01 pm

Working on sorting the extras we have from our dome lights right now. Contact me via pm for more info
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:17 pm

PM Sent
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:09 pm

Well heard back from support today. They wont sell me one. Guess I will have to buy it from elsewhere and pay extra shipping.
A-Ray

Joined: May 01 2005
Posts: 4062
Location: Volunteer State


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:15 pm

Is there a specific reason you want to use thode's and not LED's? Basically what I am wondering is, why not just use the domelight?
Chris

Joined: Sep 27 2004
Posts: 2395
Location: NY


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:21 pm

Im surprised you guys dont just purchase more of the adapters. How much can each one run realistically? ****, even at $3 each I am sure you would profit.
byte

Joined: Mar 25 2009
Posts: 313


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:15 pm

Put up an ad in the buy/sell section... I bet someone has one lying around that they didn't use on a dome light install...
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:09 pm

I originally had bought CCFLs and now I just want to keep that same flow throughout the car.

Heck I would have paid up to 5 dollars for that dummy bulb! I ordered by CCFL today so too late to combine shipping on it! Dont think my package is shipped yet but oh well.

I saw the dummy bulb for sale on another site for $2.99 with $3.50 shipping. icon_rolleyes.gif
H-Town

Joined: Dec 10 2008
Posts: 1186
Location: Houston, TX


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:35 pm

i probably have one left from the last dome light i ordered. its just a matter of finding it.
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:09 am

Can you see if you still have them? I bought what I thought were connectors from another member but it turns out they are bulbs. I am going to try to see if I can pull out the LED and put wires into it as he suggests.
02cougarman

Joined: Jun 23 2008
Posts: 924
Location: OH


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:40 am

i will check and see if i have one tonight... i know i used one for my licence plate lighting but i think i have another one
Tat2Dragons

Joined: Jan 21 2007
Posts: 3404
Location: Baltimore Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:25 pm

If I'm feeling better,I'll try to check later and see if I have some too. icon_smile.gif
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:32 pm

Send me $2 for shipping and it's yours

Paypal: juicehenderson

Leave your address. I'll ship it tomorrow
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:36 pm

Juicehenderson@gmail.com oops

When we sell ours, it's going to be x amount plus 4.20 shipping. Shipping is $4.20 on every order; if you buy 4 underbody kits or 4 LEDs
sean89

Joined: Mar 18 2009
Posts: 43


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:41 pm

kramer13 wrote:
Juicehenderson@gmail.com oops

When we sell ours, it's going to be x amount plus 4.20 shipping. Shipping is $4.20 on every order; if you buy 4 underbody kits or 4 LEDs


Sent! Thank you!
The time now is Thu May 24, 2018 5:01 am
Page 1 of 1