Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

How to wire SPST?

Author
Message
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 1:42 pm

I'm looking to use a SPST 12VDC/50mA switch for a project I'm working on but I never wired a switch. Can someone tell me how to wire a switch similiar to these?
I'm looking to use the 1st image/link due to size. I will be wiring it to Oznium Pre-wired Ribbon LED Strips and Oznium 23A battery holder
User posted image User posted image
I assume + and - on the LED goes onto one side of the switch and + and - from the battery goes on the other?


Last edited by dcemureviews on Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:19 pm, edited 2 times in total
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:01 pm

Nope. Single pole single throw only have two unique pins. Maybe the others are just for stability on a circuit board. You can see the pins on one side are actually connected / same piece of metal / electrical continuity.

To wire a spst switch you simply take a wire, cut it, and wire one end of your cut wire to one pin of the switch and the other end of your cut wire to the other pin of your switch.

Those look like momentary switches btw.
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:08 pm

You lost me at "Nope". LOL. Such a noob. I need a diagram. In the mean time, I'll see if I can find someone on google search.

The first link says its momentary. So I guess thats out of the question.

EDIT: Further reading, both are momentary =(


Last edited by dcemureviews on Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:18 pm, edited 3 times in total
kramer13
Oznium Employee

Joined: Jun 20 2004
Posts: 3744
Location: Baltimore, MD


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:12 pm

You noob, Phil.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:23 pm

Excuse the rough diagram, made it with the iPad haha, too lazy to go get the laptop. But it doesn't really do you any good since you won't be using these switches (they are momentary).

Have you thought about just removing the battery when you want to turn the LEDs off? :p


User posted image
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:32 pm

Phil wrote:
Excuse the rough diagram, made it with the iPad haha, too lazy to go get the laptop. But it doesn't really do you any good since you won't be using these switches (they are momentary).

Have you thought about just removing the battery when you want to turn the LEDs off? :p


User posted image

Thanks Phil. I agree, the diagram will do me no good as they are momentary. I currently have it where I would remove the battery. But trying to make it more convenient for a wedding project

User posted image
User posted image
User posted image
User posted image

The block bulge on the left is the 23A Oznium battery covered in black electrical tape.
User posted image

Would this be enough?
or Rated 3 amps at 125VAC.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:56 pm

Those switches are perfect
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:14 pm

Thanks. Now I have to hit up RadioShack and see if those sizes will fit.
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:31 pm

Would I be able to use this with 2 foot of prewired ribbon led?


Rated 0.3 amps at 125VAC

I assume no because according to Oznium specs..

Electrical Specs:
Input Voltage: 12VDC
Power Consumption: 24W (about 2 amps) per 16.4 foot roll
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:00 am

Yes that switch will work. 100%
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:34 am

Even at 0.3amps? Sweet! Thanks.
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:39 am

Ohms Law :
.3 X125=37.5
37.5/12= 3.13 amps at 12 volts (approximately)
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:34 am

Yea because that .3A rating is at high voltage, you're working with low voltage, so it can handle more current.

If you think of electricity like water, the voltage is the pressure, and the amperage is the area/amount of water.

So when you decrease the pressure, you can increase the area and have no I'll effects. If that makes any sense...
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:12 am

Thank Phil and thanks bad venge for the calculation when it comes to current.
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:34 pm

This is how I wire it?

User posted image

or

User posted image

*EDIT* Nevermind. Its picture #2
Q45guy

Joined: Feb 17 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Portland, OR.


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:45 pm

No...you want the first picture. If you use the #2 diagram, the lights will never turn off and you may end out burning up the battery.
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:37 pm

Q45guy wrote:
No...you want the first picture. If you use the #2 diagram, the lights will never turn off and you may end out burning up the battery.

Isnt that what the switch is for...to turn off the light and stop using the battery?

I tested option #2 and when I flipped the switch, lights turn off. I'm confused now. LOL.
bad venge

Joined: Jul 28 2007
Posts: 3550


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:36 pm

option 2 turns off the light by dead shorting the battery
dcemureviews

Joined: Sep 05 2008
Posts: 97


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:41 pm

So option #1 it is. Thanks to both.
The time now is Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:37 pm
Page 1 of 1