Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Different Switches such as magnetic swithes, rotary switches

Author
Message
The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:33 pm

Has anyone messed around with different types of switches that usually aren't associated with automotive lighting? Im think along the lines of magnetic swithes, rotary switches even pressure switches.

The idea I have in mind is to wire some blue cathodes in my trunk and install a magnetic switch that will allow them to come on when the trunk is opened and connection of the magnets is broken ( normally open , i think).

Well lemme know what you think.

I know Oznium has lots of switches available here:
https://www.oznium.com/switches
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:44 pm

for the trunk a pin switch would work better....like the kind used on the doors. or if you have a trunk light hook the cathodes into that.
Moss

Joined: Mar 23 2004
Posts: 6436


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:48 pm

It's do able anything can be wired to those switches just check the amperage and what not. My Toyota Solara has a pressure switch of sorts when you sit in the passangers side a small light blinks on the dash for the seat belt. icon_cool.gif
TheBrick

Joined: Oct 07 2003
Posts: 4140
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:26 pm

ya just wire the thodes to the trunk light. No switch needed and you will get the same effect.
Optika1 illushun

Joined: Jun 09 2003
Posts: 1480
Location: Coal Region, Pa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:30 pm

those switches are called always on or always off
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:39 pm

Moss wrote:
It's do able anything can be wired to those switches just check the amperage and what not. My Toyota Solara has a pressure switch of sorts when you sit in the passangers side a small light blinks on the dash for the seat belt. icon_cool.gif


I call him the little red man and my friends have no idea what I am talking about puppy_dog_eyes.gif

The Game: Where in Killa Cali are ya? I am in THE bay area.
jol102001

Joined: Feb 12 2004
Posts: 5815
Location: Lake Charles, LA -- USA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:15 pm

just make sure you lights can handle these types of things... most neon things can't handle dimmers
Optika1 illushun

Joined: Jun 09 2003
Posts: 1480
Location: Coal Region, Pa


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:16 pm

if these are what im thinking of, it has nothing to do with dimming home boy...
stasis-

Joined: Jun 05 2004
Posts: 4517
Location: Texas!


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:20 pm

didnt someone try to use one of those rotary switches not to long ago? ask them
Bobberrific

Joined: Jun 13 2004
Posts: 557
Location: Wilkes-Barre


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:00 pm

I believe a pin switch would work fine. I know my outdated alarm system has one for the trunk.
The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:19 pm

Phil, its me James. Remember a month and a half ago I ordered some LED's and cathodes and had them shipped to me at my office in Northridge cuz Im never home during the day? Then the post office didnt have the suite # and it was a mess trying to track it all down?
Yup! that was me. Im here now. biglaugh.gif
The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:25 pm

Well back to the switches.

Does any one have any links to sites that sell wiring supplies like that? I searched around and came up with alot of search engines but very few actual sites that sell stuff like that.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:33 pm

The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:50 pm

Ok that will work. Any more are more than welcome.

Got another question that still relates to switches: Has any one wired up thier lights with a multiple postion switch? Kinda like what you use to control you AC in your car. Where you can have it in individual modes or in more that one at the same time depending on its position.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:08 pm

a rotary switch or a slide switch would work. but im not sure how to do it.
Floyd

Joined: Jul 23 2004
Posts: 1230
Location: California, Maryland


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:48 am

I have a set of cathodes and 4 LED's wired into my trunk light circuit and have had no problems icon_wink.gif
The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:11 pm

Well I was thinking of something along these lines:
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/category....5&item=RS-117&type=store
If anyone know how they work or how to wire them so you have difrferent configurations, let me know. Im thinking of only having like 6 or 7 different accesories but have them in different modes so I can turn through them on the switch.
Phil
Owner, Oznium.com

Joined: Feb 11 2003
Posts: 7719


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:19 pm

James what up! That rotary switch has 12 positions. One contact is the input, and the other 12 are the outputs. Only one of the outputs will have continuity with the input at a time.

You will need to use relays. You could do some cool stuff with it, but it would be a ton of wiring.

Might as well go with Iceled ozzy_change.gif
Glowin97x

Joined: Mar 13 2004
Posts: 608
Location: Malibu, CA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Sun Apr 17, 2005 7:32 pm

Northridge, THATS WHERE IM FROM! what up !
The Game

Joined: Mar 09 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Killa Cali


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:01 pm

The cops in Northridge are anal as hell. I have gotten pulled over for my exhaust on my Sentra and my Civic before that like 3 times in the past year! Lucky for me I didnt get any tickets for that but for little stupid things like speeding, no insurance, trying to run a school bus full of children and nuns off the 405 - 118 interchange, stuff like that.

Its like if you arent pushing a Lex or Beemer your suspect.
Glad I dont live there. I'd kill myself in Yuppieville.
Rags

Joined: Apr 21 2005
Posts: 3527
Location: dayton


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 8:37 pm

i plan on setting up a meteor light and liquid neon to my trunk light and from what i learned from blowing up my last set of bulbs, be sure to check your positive and negative wires for the trunk because on alot of cars they are not marked and very short so you dont have alot of leighway. k i cant spell. good luck tho.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 8:40 pm

thats when a multimeter comes in handy icon_wink.gif icon_cool.gif
Rags

Joined: Apr 21 2005
Posts: 3527
Location: dayton


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 8:55 pm

yea, but for me, i have hardly any tools and everything i do is inspiration mixed with improvision. add a testlight some wire and random lights.
Rags

Joined: Apr 21 2005
Posts: 3527
Location: dayton


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 8:57 pm

GlowinPontiac: 2 questions, how many leds (if they are leds) are in your headlights and if your headlight has 2 cavities, how many are in each.
i am just curious cause i did the same with mine and the only thing that bothers me is they are as deep of a blue as i had hoped.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 8:58 pm

to check polarity use an led with a resistor on the long lead of the led. the long one with the resistor will be positve and the short one negative. use that to check for polarity.
Rags

Joined: Apr 21 2005
Posts: 3527
Location: dayton


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 9:04 pm

or just use a test light, 2 bucks at a hardware store.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 9:08 pm

yeah but a testlight with a regular bulb will light up even with reversed polarity...unless it has a diode in it.

my headlights somewhat have 2 cavites theres a lil wall between teh hi and lo side.
theres 4 leds in each so 2 per cavity.
Rags

Joined: Apr 21 2005
Posts: 3527
Location: dayton


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 9:10 pm

yea mine has the same 2 cavities, and i was able to fit 3 per cavity.
and yea to test polarity like that is true unless you go from a true ground with the alligator clip such as keys in the ignition or the negative battery terminal with a test light.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed May 04, 2005 9:20 pm

yeah i never even thought of using a metal ground to be sure of polarity doh.gif
The time now is Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:17 pm
Page 1 of 1