Oznium.com Store
Oznium Forum
The value of this forum is in the interaction with your fellow LED lighting enthusiasts.
Register today! - It is FREE and quick

Headlight flasher

Author
Message
9sdime9

Joined: Jul 06 2003
Posts: 1905
Location: MA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:54 pm

Ok, here's the deal.

I got a nifty Federal Signal Headlight flasher for $10 on ebay. I put it in to flash my high beams, wig wag style.

Problem is, Chevy only sends power from the headlight switch to ONE headlight, then jumps it over to the other one. So when i turn the flasher one, it just lights both headlights up. icon_sad.gif

So the question is, how do i isolate the headlights from eachother, but still have highbeams? I'm looking for a way to, with one switch, disconnect the two headlights from eachother and turn the flasher on. Then, when the flasher is turned off, have the headlights connected again.

SPDT relay or somethin?

If this doesn't make sense, just ask and i'll try to explain better.
Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:58 pm

run a seperate wire from the wig-wag to each higbeam and put in a switch that would disconnect the interconnect wire.
but im sure there is a better way
9sdime9

Joined: Jul 06 2003
Posts: 1905
Location: MA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:59 pm

GlowinPontiac wrote:
run a seperate wire from the wig-wag to each higbeam and put in a switch that would disconnect the interconnect wire.
but im sure there is a better way


I thought about that and the flasher is wired to each headlight, but i only wanna have one switch that does both things at once.
GlowinPontiac

Joined: Mar 04 2004
Posts: 5959
Location: Central CT


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:16 pm

you need a dpdt toggle switch
connect the middle terminals to the headlights one terminal to left and one to right
connect one set of side terminals to the wig/wag one terminal to left and one to right
connect the terminals on the other side together and then to the wire form the headlight switch.

with the switch to one side the wig wag would control each light seperatly and with it all the way to the other side the headlights would work normally. if the switch was in the middle nothing would work

sorry if its confusing...i drew a diagram but it came out with a 2.4 meg filesize in paint and i cant upload soemthing that big on 56k icon_cry.gif
9sdime9

Joined: Jul 06 2003
Posts: 1905
Location: MA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:15 pm

Yea, that would work, i was just hoping there was a way that i wouldn't have to run another set of wires into the cab, instead use a relay or somethin.
9sdime9

Joined: Jul 06 2003
Posts: 1905
Location: MA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 30, 2005 8:20 am

In case anyone cares, i think a simple 5-pin relay should solve my problem. icon_smile.gif

Thanks for the ideas though!
MrJayDeeOne

Joined: Mar 26 2005
Posts: 1277
Location: Woodbridge NJ/Staten Island NY


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:44 pm

I got a kit off a guy on Ebay from canada
its a homemade kit
if you want i can getcha his info off EBAY
it cost me about 60 bucks and it controls the front high beams
and the rear tail lights/reverse lights
it can be used on any car
real simple install
and you can pick from 1 of 2 speeds on the kit itself
and you can also use one switch have front and rear work at same time
or 2 swithes and be able to operate front and rear independantely
9sdime9

Joined: Jul 06 2003
Posts: 1905
Location: MA


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:28 pm

MrJayDeeOne wrote:
I got a kit off a guy on Ebay from canada
its a homemade kit
if you want i can getcha his info off EBAY
it cost me about 60 bucks and it controls the front high beams
and the rear tail lights/reverse lights
it can be used on any car
real simple install
and you can pick from 1 of 2 speeds on the kit itself
and you can also use one switch have front and rear work at same time
or 2 swithes and be able to operate front and rear independantely



Thanks for the offer, but i already got the Flasher for $10 and it works great! I just didn't realize that i needed a ground switched flasher for the headlights to work properly without modification. However, it's no big deal, a little relay will solve the problem.
orangesonoma

Joined: Sep 03 2004
Posts: 12


Are you sure you want to delete this post?
  
Post Mon Apr 04, 2005 6:41 pm

the unit should have a bypass input....it should have two output wires for the left and right light...one for paower and one for ground....now there should be the bypass wire...this will connect to you highbeam input...so when this wire see power...it will stop the flashers and feed power out the left and right wires....
The time now is Tue May 22, 2018 6:02 pm
Page 1 of 1